Follow the Presidential Election on YouTube Marijuana Legalization Follow the Presidential Election on Twitter Follow the Presidential Election on Facebook
2016 Green Party Presidential Candidates  
Support Independet Media

Contrary to popular perception and political rhetoric, the Green Party of the United States is the actual flag bearer of American liberalism; its ethos, pathos and logos sit at the very core of every purist liberal in the country. Not since the days of President John F. Kennedy, and subsequently, President Lyndon Johnson, have the liberals had one of their own to call President.

The result of the 2012 presidential election means that the liberals will once again be piggybacking on the left wing of the Democratic Party to champion their cause. It bears no reminding that the party's share of the popular vote in 2012, 0.36%, is its worst since 2000 (2.74%/2000, 0.38%/2004, 0.56%/2008).

While they can take heart from the fact that the campaign of their nominee for President, Dr. Jill Stein, managed to expand the party's ballot access to 38 states, the stark truth is, the next four years will be crucial to the party's credibility as a major political force, and perhaps, long-term survival. A great challenge awaits the party's next presidential candidate - and this is no exaggeration.

show all Presidential Candidates show women & men Presidential Candidates sorted alphabetically order alphabetically
show Democrats only show women only order by age (youngest to oldest)
show Republicans only show men only    
show 3rd parties and Independents        

Exploratory 2016 Green Party Presidential Candidate
Physician, Reformer, Environmental Activist
Declared Green Party 2016 Candidate Jill Stein

Jill Stein is no stranger to national politics. As the Green Party nominee in 2012, she understands the rigors of a national campaign. Stein is a fierce advocate for the environment and believes that investments in green issues can propel the American people and economy forward.  

Potential 2016 Green Party Presidential Candidate
Former U.S. Representative from Georgia
Potential Green Party Presidential Candidate Cynthia McKinney

The former Democrat became the first ever female Africa-American from Georgia to serve in the U.S. House of Representatives after being elected to represent the state's 4th District in 1996. She would go on to serve a total of six terms in the House.